When life is tough

Paul and other stories


ISBN: 9781781284261

Publication date: May 21, 2021

Format: Ebook

Extent: 64 pages

Series: God Cares

Imprint: Candle Books


A chapter book retelling the story of Paul, who encountered many harsh and demoralising situations on his missionary journeys with additional related snippets from other Bible stories. But God cares, providing constant reassurance and enabling Paul to stay hopeful. 

A reassuring story to help older children reflect and talk to people they trust about when their lives get tough and they feel rejected, providing the support they need to find ways through, including from God.

The ‘God cares’ series provides a Biblical approach to discussing emotions and behaviour with children to nurture an attitude of wellness. Children at different ages approach things differently in their stages of emotional development, so this series works at two different levels: illustrated Readers aimed at 5-7 year olds and Chapter books aimed at 8+ years. Please note that children progress at different reading abilities and stages of emotional development so the age ranges are only a guide for parents and carers. 

The Bible stories are retold reflecting on the emotions and encourages children to discuss and relate this within their situations. Sections at the back provide a reflective space for children and practical advice for parents and carers.

Debbie Duncan, author of The Art of Daily Resilience, Brave and Gifted, is a nurse and a teacher, and mother of four children. She has considerable insight into what constitutes resilience and bravery: the ability to cope, to stay on course, to bounce back. In her books she considers what is required for physical, mental, and spiritual durability, interweaving biblical teaching, prayers, with personal anecdote and sound advice. This she now applies specifically to support parents and carers raising children.


Meet the author: Mrs Deborah L Duncan

Debbie Duncan

Debbie Duncan is an advanced nurse practitioner and lecturer in nursing; a church leader and minister’s wife. She is married to Rev Malcolm Duncan and has a busy family life that includes being mum to their four grown up children.

She is the author of Brave, The Art of Daily Resilience, and The God Cares series. Debbie is also an author of over fifty professional nursing journal articles and two text books in nursing. She writes on a range of issues that often reflect her professional life and personal faith.

Reviews for When life is tough

'Debbie Duncan speaks directly into our anxious culture. She retells Bible stories through the lens of emotion, in a lively and accessible way. A brilliant, two-tiered approach!' Katharine Hill UK Director of Care for the Family

'Thought-provoking and encouraging! An invaluable resource that helps children face emotions, talk and pray about them.' Sue Monckton-Rickett Chair of the Association of Christian Counsellors

'A gentle in-road for parents and carers to encourage children to open up.' Karen Lennie, Cognitive Behavioural Psychotherapist PG Dip BABCP Member (Accred)

'The God Cares series brilliantly helps children understand the emotions of Bible characters while encouraging them to explore their own emotions in the face of similar situations.' Bob Hartman Author and performance storyteller

More books by Mrs Deborah L Duncan

Related Books

Related blog posts

God Cares

God Cares series: A Biblical approach to Children’s Mental Health and Well-being

17 May 2021

This month, we’re thrilled to publish three new books in the acclaimed God Cares series by Debbie Duncan. The God Cares series provides a Biblical approach to discussing emotions and behaviour with children to nurture an attitude of wellness. We hope these books will spark important conversations and help children learn how to understand their mental health and express their emotions.